//
you're reading...
Costume Construction

It seemed like a good idea…

…but it really wasn’t!  Last night, I put the skirts on my bodice and held the leather (that I’d spent two hours painting) up to it and almost screamed.  That perfect paint that I thought I was so happy with, not so much against the other fabric.  Sad thing is, I looked at it with the fabrics before I painted it and didn’t like it,  then after and it was all good.  Not sure what happened in between times but I hated the look and the way it photographed.

Alas, my work day was cut short because I needed to take an hour to drive (one way) to find more leather paint.  I came back with three options, the first is drying and I think it’s the most promising.  We’ll see when it dries and I photograph it with everything else.

*sigh*  That’s what I get for trying to be one step ahead.  Haha.  Jokes on me!  😉

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

2 thoughts on “It seemed like a good idea…

  1. is all of this for the qetesh or something else? Why am I not remembering her wearing leather outside of that black vixen thing she wore with the matrix style coat… btw, you ever doing that one? 🙂

    Posted by scifispirit | February 12, 2012, 11:23 pm
    • Yep, Qetesh. Her bodice was leather…it’s like a shortened mock-corest piece with ‘lace’ and trim over top…but it is leather.

      And I would LOVE to do her black leather outfit! I tried to contact a lady I spoke to a few years ago at Dragon*Con about it (her prices are reasonable and she does amazing work) but she won’t respond. :-/ I’m just not sure that I can do all that leather work myself.

      Posted by Kate, who is Becoming Vala | February 13, 2012, 12:08 am

Leave a Reply

