//
you're reading...
Conventions, Kate's Costumes, Random

Creation Con List gets smaller…or more realistic

As I previously mentioned, I had a laundry list of things I wanted to get done. Hanging out with my family over shadowed that so with about two weeks left before the convention, I simplified my original list and made it more realistic.

I found great fabric for my ‘Powers That Be’ Qetesh skirt. And I will re-make that along with the bodice eventually. However, I’ve decided this will be a costume I leave home. It’s a fun costume and I love it, but it needs tweaks. Tweaks that I don’t have time to do. And that’s OK.

Right now, I plan to bring more costumes than I will probably wear. lol My Continuum Qetesh will be packed, my Greens, Blacks and probably Deserts, the Val waitress costume, probably episode 100 Dorothy and more than likely my two Atlantis scientist costumes (at least the newer one, since I know where that is). That’s more than enough. It really is.

It’s disappointing that my other Qetesh is staying home, but I want to rock it the next time I wear it so upgrades are in order. Plus I have other things to finish so…all in good time.

Right now, everything is pretty much done. I have about a twenty minutes of work on the sewing machine and I have to hand tack a lining back in a jacket (which will take no more than twenty minutes and can be done on the ride out to the convention). My Continuum Qetesh hems were redone yesterday and look so much better and I need to pack. But that’s not going to happen tonight as I have a meeting. 😦

Picked up my hair piece last week and it looks AWESOME!!! I will have to get photos up on here soon. I’m excited to have something that looks real.

The con should be fun, it’ll be a nice getaway for my hubby and I as Monday will be our seven-year anniversary BUT I miss my little princess already – being a Mom has really made me a marshmallow!

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment