//
you're reading...
Costume Construction, Props

I control the kitteh! (well, not really)

Goa'uld hand device created by the talened SG Merc

Thank you, thank you, thank you to SG Merc over at SG1 Props !  I now have a beautifully crafted Kara Kesh – or ribbon device or goa’uld hand device.  Pick a name! 

The pictures do not do this piece justice as it’s even more impressive in person.  SG Merc even put in a little control so that when I open and close my fingers the crystal will light.  This thing is too cool for sure and it’s going to be the perfect addition to my Qetesh costume.  🙂

I’m not sure how long it took him to sculpt all the pieces, but you can sure see all the time, energy, research and love put into every fiber of this thing.  He’s got patience that’s for sure and it’s obvious he takes pride in all his work.  I can’t say enough good things about this piece or working with him!

The Qetesh costume is down to a few nit-picky things (at least I hope).  I have to paint and attach some appliques/crystals, do some hand stitching, do a few touch ups to the gauntlet/bracelet (whatever you want to call it) and make a closure for the collar.  I also have to pray that the fit and drape is acceptable when I try it on tonight.  If you feel the ground rumble later, that’s me screaming and stomping my feet because there are some issues.  lol  I’m not expecting anything major but I do know I’ll have some things to fix after wearing it this weekend.  I also have BDU pants to finish tonight…and sleep (hooray for sleep!)….before we head out tomorrow morning.

Also, let me introduce you to my sewing buddy Rocket.  I’m his human and it was his little head you see in the picture above.  Hubby pulled this little angel out of the fan belt of a truck, we heard him crying when we finished dinner one night while living near New Orleans.  He’s a ton of fun  andI think he’s actually part dog.  He’s also with me whenever I’m working on a project and if he doesn’t get enough attention those little paws are busy knocking things off on to the floor in the sewing room until he gets some.  He’s a character with a lot of personality.

Rocket, not falling for my mind control tricks

 
About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

9 thoughts on “I control the kitteh! (well, not really)

  1. If you really could rig that thing as a cat silencer you’d make a fortune – I was trying to cut buttonholes today and my cat branston wouldn’t leave my scalpel alone. How he still has a nose is beyond my comprehension

    Posted by opusanglicanum | February 16, 2012, 9:02 pm
  2. What’s it made of? Molded ABS plastic? It looks awesome and I’d love to see it in person (*coughShoreLeavecough*?). Also, cats are the devil. 😉

    (Was really great to meet you at Farpoint. Again, thank you for indulging my photo request and for taking it all in stride. I’m kind of hoping I win crazy photo request of the weekend! Haha! Reading your blog has really helped to kick me in the rear with my own costuming. Maybe I’ll have Pinky finished for Shore Leave. Narf!)

    Posted by Sandi | February 21, 2012, 4:58 pm
    • Hey Sandi! It was great to meet you too and I can’t wait to see the Pinky costume! So cool.

      The hand device was sculpted out of clay (or a clay-like material) and then cast. I know the arm wrap piece is a bit flexible but the finger caps are hard. Sorry I’m not too much help with that, the Saturday masquerade in my Qetesh costume was the first time I wore it and I need to touch base with the maker soon anyway so I can ask. I got it two days before we left so I didn’t have a lot of time to examine it.

      We’re hoping to be at Shoreleave and I will bring the Qetesh costume again and the ribbon device. 🙂

      Posted by Kate, who is becoming Vala | February 22, 2012, 8:30 pm
      • I’m guessing resin for the finger caps. I assumed it was originally sculpted in clay (NSP, probably– like I’m doing with my TLS Drone helmet), but was curious as to what was used after the sculpt. The mold and pour for that must’ve been crazy because of the ribbon part.

        See, it’s like I said– this costuming stuff becomes a slippery slope. Now I want to know how it’s made. And I’m looking at Bastet’s costume because she’s got that hilarious head piece and a metal bra. Who doesn’t love a metal bra?. Haha! Also, there seems to be a sad lack of ‘System Ladies’ running around at cons. 😉

        Must finish TLS Drone and Pinky first though.

        Posted by Sandi | February 23, 2012, 12:58 am
  3. I think when he did the ribbon he poured it flat and then he has a form he used to mold it by heating up the material. I wouldn’t be surprised if the finger caps were resin.

    You should make a Bastet costume! That would be awesome, such a fun costume and I don’t knot hat I’ve seen anyone create one before. And I do agree, there is a lack of ‘System Ladies’ – and I’d say even ‘Lords’ are lacking. So many awesome and fun costumes in the Stargate series and it would be a lot of fun to see more of them. 🙂

    Posted by Kate, who is becoming Vala | February 23, 2012, 1:37 pm
  4. How di you you get sg merc to make yo the ribbon device/

    Posted by alex | May 20, 2012, 7:39 am
  5. Hi I was wondering if u could tell me how to get in touch with SG1 proms to find out if they are able to create me a ribbon hand device because I can’t find anywhere that will and I was also wondering if u could tell me how much it will cost me.

    Thanks very much
    Scott

    Posted by Scott | July 2, 2012, 10:28 pm
    • Hi Scott –

      If you follow the link for SG1 Props at the top of this blog you should be able to contact him through the site- that’s what I did initially. As for price, you’ll have to discuss that with him because he offered a few different options and depending on what you want that will vary the cost.

      Posted by Kate, who is becoming Vala | August 29, 2012, 2:23 pm

Leave a Reply

