//
you're reading...
Kate's Costumes

My Birthday Suit

A little over a year ago, my dear husband (Ryan) surprised me with a screen used Vala Mal Doran costume from the Stargate SG-1 episode ‘Family Ties’ for my birthday.  We affectionately call it the ‘girl’s day out’ outfit as it’s what she’s wearing toward the beginning of the episode when she and Sam come back from shopping (and Mitchell may have said something to that effect too).

Ryan had won it at an auction and got it at a really reasonable price, especially since the cropped leather jacket that is part of the outfit is from a designer and worth way more than the entire outfit sold for at auction.  He didn’t realize that at the time, but it was an awesome find and thankfully the jacket fits! 

 It’s a fun outfit and here’s my break down of it. 

Shorts:  Unlike Claudia Black, I am not a size two – never have, never will be as I have hips- which presents a slight problem with the shorts.  Having the screen used ones in hand helped to find a replacement pair.  The shorts were manufactured by Banana Republic and although I couldn’t find the exact same pair (it was from a few years back so they probably aren’t made anymore) I found the same style and a pattern that’s super close to the original.  I had to hem them, but I’m happy with what I found. 

Undershirt:  The undershirt is a size small or extra small, but it’s super stretchy so I can wiggle into it.  Looks like it was manufactured in house, which is neat to see how they put it together – it’s essentially a tank style top.  I do wish it was slightly longer as I have a bit longer torso, but all and all, it works.

Jacket:  Fits!  Okay, it’s a tad snug in the shoulder area however I can suck it up to wear it.  Plus, it reminds me to keep good posture since it fits better when I’m not slouching. 

Footwear/Accessories:  The only pieces I lack to complete the outfit now are the shoes and earrings.  The shoes are turning out to be quite the task to find.  Hubby and I found a pair that is sorta close, but they’re way too expensive to buy for ‘sorta close.’  All in good time, we’ll find something that works.  The earrings won’t be hard, but I can’t seem to remember to look for them.

 So below is myself in the costume and a screen cap from the episode on the right (screen cap compliments of Gateworld.net).

 Image

Special thanks to my stylist Steph as I can never get my hair to curl and have the body like she does (I’m working on it but it’s a slow process and I still need more fullness to my hair in this picture).  She works magic with her hair dryer and curling iron – I lack patience and she has plenty!  And for whatever reason, when she curls my hair it stays curled.  If I get some curls in mine, it falls out after an hour.  Haha. 

This one is almost complete, a few minor touch-ups and tweaks and it’ll be ready for a night out on the town!  😉

~ Kate

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

2 thoughts on “My Birthday Suit

  1. That is so cool!

    Posted by Mitch Dailey | January 23, 2012, 2:56 pm

Leave a Reply

