//
you're reading...
Actors, Conventions, Costume Construction, Kate's Costumes

Desert Continuum BDU Pants

You would not believe how many entries I’ve typed up and failed to post. I’m just not on the computer as much when I get home at night. So I shall try to do better, as I have a ton of posts to make!

Vala's desert outfit from Continuum (auction photo)

Vala’s desert outfit from Continuum (auction photo)

Desert BDU pants: As I’ve mentioned before, my dear hubby purchased Vala’s Desert Continuum costume for me when it went up for auction. Everything fit except the pants which I was happy to remake to fit me.

These pants were especially unique, even for Vala.  Anyone familiar with Vala’s costumes know that her clothing was more fitted and tailored.  Like her black, olive and navy bdu pants, her desert pants were also flared with smaller pockets and a tuck  in the knee but the desert pants had one rather large difference – maternity stretch panels!

My pants on the left, screen used on the right

The maternity stretch panels in her desert pants made me particularly happy since I’m expecting and this gave me an excellent reason to finally sew the pants. With no real issues (yes, I’m finally getting better at her bdu pants!)  I completed these and wore them for Farpoint this year. It was so great to have pants that expanded as the day went on…which seems to be a reoccurring thing with my belly. :-)Though I can see several times throughout the year where stretchy panels in pants might be an advantage… (Thanksgiving anyone? Lol)

So, back to the pants. The spandex panels are on both sides of the front of the pants in the area where your pocket would normally be. They’re anchored at the waist and caught in the side seams but open at the bottom of the spandex piece so they stretch with your body. It’s quite generous actually. I believe Claudia had just given birth when they were filming Continuum so they probably would’ve put the panels in to accommodate her shrinking size.

Hubby found me the correct fabric and when I go to create another pair of the desert pants without the maternity panels, I will order fabric so I can try to match the pattern exactly. The spandex I wasn’t able to match. The piece I found to use is a little bit lighter in color and a little lighter weight. That being said, I did double the fabric to give it extra strength and it worked great. The belt really hides most of the panel so no worries about it showing.

Ryan (aka: Stitch) is working on the desert vests now. We’re still scouring for the correct fabrics, pieces and whatnot but I’m happy to report he is getting closer! The vest in the picture I borrowed from this great guy in Canada named Chris. This is his vest and it was Mitchell’s vest from Continuum. He was nice enough to let me wear in for a few hours at the convention and let my hubby borrow it as a pattern/guide for recreating them.

Billingsleys

Mrs & Mr Billingsley

WithBillingsley

Hubby and I with John Billingsley

Mr. John Billingsley, who played Dr. Simon Coombs, was at Farpoint so Ryan asked him to throw on his boonie hat and pose for a picture with us. Both he and his wife were so friendly and nice, his wife even suggested a baby name for us. 🙂  At the time we didn’t know if we were having a girl or a boy, so Mr. Billingsley kindly signed the picture to he/she name yet to be determined. Really a swell guy!

It’s nice to have options while pregnant, so I’m thankful that Claudia Black did work while she was with child. Thanks Claudia! I can still costume while I’m growing!

P.S. For anyone interested, we did find out that we will be having a girl and no, I don’t think she’ll be named Adria. 😉

KateValaDesert

Kate as Vala at Farpoint 2013

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

