//
you're reading...
Costume Construction, General Stargate, Kate's Costumes, Props, Stargate Build

Updates: Boots, New address

Just because we’re moving and my sewing area is packed up doesn’t mean I’m still not costuming – so to speak.  😉

Since Vala appeared in Season 9 as a regular, I’ve been trying to track down her boots.  I’m going to do a longer post on this later (with pictures) but I have three pairs that I’ve collected that are all close but nothing exact.  Hubby and I have searched high and low and weren’t sure if they were a modified pair of off the shelf boots or not.   Hubby was visiting our friend Shane one day and come to find out; he has the exact boots for one of his costumes – so off the shelf they are with no mods!  Granted his boots were about a size too big (yes, of course I tried them on), I figured I’d find a way to ‘make it work’ (as Tim Gunn would say) if he’d let me buy them because I wanted the screen accurate boots.  Well, I’m happy to report that as of yesterday I have a brand new pair of those exact boots that fit me like a glove!  I’m blessed to have a husband that supports my habit. Lol But it is pretty exciting to find the right boots after years of looking – more on this later but…whoo hoo!

In other news, I’m still probably a month away from getting my sewing machine back up and running.  We’ve found a place to buy a little outside of town but we won’t be able to get in for a least a couple more weeks.  It’s not exactly where we were thinking we’d end up but things have seemed to fall into place.  Plus, it’s on two acres of land with a meadow and two wooded areas so hubby and I are planning to build a full size traveling stargate on the property.

Traveling Stargate recently auctioned off

We think the traveling gate is a little smaller than the one at SGC (so a touch more doable) but we’re still doing research and are in the planning stages.  Also, since we are moving in to an old farmhouse, we have a lot of internal work to do on the house itself so this project may be at year or two down the road…but it will happen!

Keeping my eyes sharp for costume fabric as my stuff is packed up and we’re talking with a great company about getting Vala’s leather outfit from Avalon created for me.  Since no one was getting back to me I was getting desperate and again pondering doing it myself but it’s possible this may work out.  Fingers crossed!

Until the next post!

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

