//
you're reading...
Actors, Conventions, General Stargate, Kate's Costumes

Fan Expo Canada 2012, Part 1

 This was a very short, but good trip.

We got started later than we’d planned and waited in line a lot longer then planned to get our tickets, but we did get in the doors before they capped the people due to fire codes.  That would’ve been awful, a four-hour drive to not get in. 

The pants…I did finish my olive bdu pants at approximately 9:10pm the night before – though they still need a proper hem.  I will say that I’m not happy with them, but satisfied with them for now.  They were much better then the last pair and fit better, so I’m okay with them.

Our Stargate Team at Fan Expo Canada 2012 plus a nice guy we meet from the Icarus Base crew (the guy on the left in the black)

Met some great people at the convention and since most of the time the four of us were together (two Atlantis, two SG-1) we got the obligatory; “It’s a Stargate Team, three guys and a girl! That’s great!”  

Several Stargate costumers were there and we ran into a few more that were going to be in costume on Sunday.  It’s always cool to have a group to putz around the convention with and as our friend Justin pointed out (he’s the John Shepherd clone in the sunglasses) if you have four and not just two people together you’re more easily recognizable and photographed.  Funny how that works.  😉

Ryan and I toward the end of the convention

By the skin of our teeth and some quick talking by my hubby, we did get to see Amanda Tapping.  She re-enlisted him in the Navy in 2006 and he hasn’t seen her since then.  I’ll post that picture later but she was completely friendly and very sweet.  It was great that she took time out to chat with her fans and didn’t rush anyone.  She seems to be one of those people that are very gracious, humble and thankful for all their fans.

More to come…

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Fan Expo Canada 2012, Part 1

  1. See, this is what I wanted to see more of at the San Diego Comic Con.

    Looking great!

    Joe

    Posted by Joseph Mallozzi | August 28, 2012, 5:05 pm
  2. Love your Vala variation of the team’s WEP jacket. It was always hard to tell the details since Vala nearly always had a vest over the jacket. For a while I even wondered whether she wore a jacket with non-reg epaulettes or just a BDU top. Did I miss an article describing the making of the jacket (did you make it)?

    Cate

    Posted by Caitlyn Antrim | August 28, 2012, 6:54 pm
    • Cate –

      I did make it, but it was before I started this blog so I never posted any construction details. My first attempt at her jacket was the black version and I poured over screen caps and pictures to create it. My husband actually was able to win her desert jacket and pants from Continuum for me and I was able to compare them side by side – mine was pretty accurate. I think my pockets were maybe a quarter of an inch off but those hours of research paid off. I did the olive one a little over a year ago and it was nice have the desert jacket as reference this time.

      If you look at Season 9, she doesn’t wear the vest (at least I don’t think she wore it at all that season) so you can pick out the details if you take the time to really look at it. I find taking notes and sketching it out helps. All her WEP jackets are the same, so if you figure out one you’ve got them all.

      She never wore a BDU top until Season 10 I believe…and never under a vest. She has an olive and a navy one that are both re-sized to fit her (I plan to work on those soon) just like the rest of her costume.

      ~ Kate

      Posted by Kate, who is becoming Vala | August 28, 2012, 7:30 pm

Leave a comment