//
you're reading...
Costume Construction, Kate's Costumes, Page Information

Direction…which way?

So many costumes I’d like to be working on!  Alas, wedding season has crept up on me and I’m currently in the process of altering wedding and bridesmaids dresses so costume sewing has been put on the back burner.  😦  With a full time job and alterations on the side, school work (I decided to go back to school online since my BFA wasn’t punishment enough), plus the pesky house stuff to keep up, time is a luxury.  But I am learning how to say no and I’ve turned down a couple jobs so I don’t stress myself out any more.

With all that said, I’m still brainstorming which direction to go when I do free up some time.  Vala has two medieval dresses that I want to do, I need to finish her outfit from ‘Family Ties’ – this one is what I’m calling her ‘Dad’ outfit – leather coat, green reptile print corset, leather pants, black top and boots (have parts of that assembled already).  Then I really would love to remake my original Qetesh costumes (from ‘Powers That Be’) but I get a headache just thinking about all the embroidery and finding a better skirt fabric.  But first things first, I WILL get the new OD pants finished before I start anything else!  Once I’m satisfied with those pants, I have a navy set and a desert camo set to create as well.

One more thought…I’ve been trying to get someone to help me with Vala’s leather outfit from Avalon.  I’ve sent numerous emails to people that do leather work and I can’t get any response.  :-/  Met a vendor at Farpoint who sounded like a possibility but I’m currently waiting to hear back.  If they don’t or can’t do it, that’s okay but please let me know!  The lady from DragonCon would never email me back – I tried for a year to get in touch with her. 

All I know, is that I don’t have near enough experience with that type of leather work to fool myself into thinking I can get that done anytime soon (and looking right).  Heck, a few months ago was the first time I’d ever used spiral steel boning in a corset.  I know it’ll be spendy, but I’d rather defer to the experts and have it done right then to invest the money in materials and be upset at wasting said materials if it doesn’t turn out.

I think my next post will be a discussion on some of Vala’s boots.  Shoes always make you feel better.  😉

 

 

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

