//
you're reading...
Costume Construction, Kate's Costumes

Sol’s Diner – Will work for food

Sometimes I find myself in a place where I need an escape or need to feel like I’ve completed something.  This particular costume is a result from a post-surgery staph infection.  Long story short, I had sinus surgery in March of 2011 (which went well) and developed a staph infection shortly after, resulting in two months of anti-biotics and codeine.  It also resulted in a bit of depression and frustration because I was doing everything I was told to do but nothing was fixing the infection.  Thankfully, I wasn’t at a full time job at that time but the whole infection thing was a total trip and that I’d rather not repeat. 

This brings me to the waitress costume – from the Stargate SG-1 episode ‘Memento Mori.’ Vala has lost her memory and ended up at Sol’s diner, literally working for her dinner.   

Mom had taken me on a ‘field trip’ to get my mind off things and I found a printed fabric that very much reminded me of this apron print, no, it’s not exact but a pretty good find for an off the rack print at Wal-Mart.  So for the first time in a month, I was getting inspired and excited about something.  We got home and I got to work and completed this in a few days.  Great way to take my mind of things. 

This, of course, is version 1.0.  Ryan and I have costume cards with fabric swatches for this costume (cards are probably still in storage from our move) but I found some fabrics that were pretty close and went for it knowing I can and will update later.  Aside from the fact my hair needs more ‘poof’ and I didn’t put the pocket on the apron in this picture – (I didn’t know it was there until after I’d sewn it!  Simple addition.) it’s pretty decent.

To do this, I used a shirt pattern and added a skirt to it.  Nothing fancy.  However I did see that Simplicity (I think) has come out with an old school waitress costume pattern that would make an awesome base for this garment.  When I re-do it, that’s probably what I will use with some adjustments to the skirt – a little less work!

It’s fun, and I haven’t worn it outside of the house yet.  I’m planning on bringing it to Farpoint in a few weeks for its debut.  Most people won’t have a clue what it is, but it’ll still be fun.

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Sol’s Diner – Will work for food

  1. Wow pretty similar if you ask me! You are and always have been one very talented person. Maybe you’ll get picked up someday to be a costume designer or something. xo (Lyla ;))

    Posted by Jenn B. | February 3, 2012, 1:26 am
  2. Beautiful work as always, Kate.

    Posted by Chase | February 3, 2012, 2:04 am
  3. I still cant get over how they got this actress, who came all the way from Australia, to look and dress just like you! 😉 Cant wait to see it in person in a couple of weeks!!!

    Posted by scifispirit | February 3, 2012, 3:02 am

Leave a Reply

