//
you're reading...
Costume Construction, Kate's Costumes

And for my next trick…

…I will attempt to turn this pile of pretty fabrics, trims and leather….

Image

 …into Qetesh’s outfit from Continuum.

Image

What am I thinking?  Haha.  Honestly, I’ll tell you what I’m thinking.  When I first saw this outfit in the movie, I wasn’t thrilled with it.  I was so disappointed that Vala got two costumes – that dress and her desert outfit.  I wasn’t feeling the love for that dress, that is until I saw a higher resolution picture of it. 

Upon closer inspection, I just loved all the crazy details in the bodice – the laces, the sparkly crystals and leather.  Leather and lace, how fun is that?  The outer layer of the dress fabric (the crinkly looking one) reminds me so much of the fabric used in the sleeves of Arwen’s ‘Chase Dress’ from the Lord of the Rings movie.  I created that years back to wear to ‘Trilogy Tuesday’ and I knew immediately I wanted to use the same fabric I did for the sleeves for that outer layer of the Qetesh dress.  So after searching high and low (the original supplier didn’t have it anymore) I found the same fabric in a great color that will work.  That stuff is fun to sew since there are metal fibers in it.  😛

The leather hide I have for the bodice and neckpiece is great but it’s a little smaller than I’d have like.  Still, I think I can make it work.

 I have almost everything on hand I need, just need to pick up a couple of things this weekend and order my boning.  Yep, it’s strapless so I’m going to bone it.  The lace part of the bodice is a bit daunting – I’m going to try and create my own to give a look reminiscent of the original.  In fact, I’m taking another cue from that Lord of the Rings dress (Arwen’s collar was a unique type of lace too) and using a similar technique to what I did to create that.  We’ll see how that goes.  I know it’s not going to be exact, but I’d like to capture the feeling of it and I can always upgrade later if I find better laces or trims to work with.

 I have a goal to get this done in a short amount of time.  However, I’m not going to rush or make myself batty doing this.  So if it doesn’t get done when I want it to, that’s fine.  I’d rather take more time if I run into snags then be unhappy with the result.  Plus, I’ve spent too many nights missing sleep cramming before a convention or event – I know better now that it’s not worth it.

 Costumes are always a work in progress, but I’d like to get close with this attempt. 🙂   Two days from now is my start date, hopefully I can put in at least a couple of hours on it that day and start getting the ball rolling!

About Kate, who is becoming Vala or Aeryn (depending on the day)

I'm a costumer, seamstress and new Mom that enjoys the challenges of recreating costume seen on screen, as well as wearable garments. There's lots I could tell you about myself, but we'll save that for another day. ;-) (aka: HothGirl)

Discussion

7 thoughts on “And for my next trick…

  1. So, are you on a Crusade to recreate every Vala costume out there? lol I think you should still do the Aeyrn Sun costumes from Farscape 😉 but then again, I am biased lol

    Posted by Ed O'Connell | January 29, 2012, 2:53 pm
  2. And yes, I’ll probably end up re-creating most of her stuff…eventually. 😛

    Posted by Kate, who is Becoming Vala | February 3, 2012, 2:06 am
  3. Hey I’m sftill waiting, and wondering what the delay is, for Katie to do the blue renaissance style dress Vala wore when her and Daniel went to Avalon ….. 🙂

    Posted by scifispirit | February 3, 2012, 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

